I like to move it! MOVE IT!

http://assignments.ds106.us/assignments/i-like-to-move-it-move-it/

I never really had a freshmen move day. You know the ones you see in the movies, giant carts full of fuzzy pillows and posters of beer bottles.

Unfortunately I had already had my start in life. I cant say it has been easy going back to school at 30 years old in a completely new career field, with a wife and 4 kids. We do with what we can though. I would rather, like to tell about another sort of freshmen move in day.

Aug,1,2008, 12:08 am Fort Benning GA. our buses were rolling through the infamous and now gone sign “Fort Benning, Home of the Infantry” My heart seemed to only beat every third beat. It is funny I would have thought my heart would be pounding out of my chest. This event however had an oddly calming almost surreal feeling to it, halfway between “oh my god what did I get my self into?” and ” I am a man and I will be a man about this. ” Exactly what every young man goes through when arriving at 30th A.G, an receiving battalion for infantry and medic solders. A hulking man with a beat red face and neck stepped on the bus, His hat was on so tight his skin folded over the strap used to adjust the hat.

listen to me you sorry excuses for society. You WILL! Stand up one row at a time. You WILL! exit the bus. You WILL! fall in line behind the man in front you you. You WILL! hold your duffel bag above your head. If I see one single duffel bag touch the ground I will personally stuff my boot in your ass. Your buddy’s will stand out here all night with their gear above their heads, until I am tired.

We stood there sweating and gowning for an hour and a half that night until the Drill Sargent tired of laughing at us and ridiculing our fatigued faces. I kept thinking to my self if I can only just hold my bag up just for a few more seconds they will let us put our stuff down. That time never came. What came of this torture though is probably one of the most valuable lessons of my entire military career and life. If you never let up, it will always pay off

3 thoughts on “I like to move it! MOVE IT!

Leave a comment